WAVING THE WHITE FLAG

Frustrated GardenerThe ever-mounting yard work haunts me. It’s low maintenance, they said. Yeah, right! What they didn’t tell me, and I failed to realize in my first-time-homebuyer naivety, was that I would be fighting a battle against weeds every spring, summer and fall for the next TEN YEARS. And, sometimes, those damn weeds look as pretty as a flower! It’s very hard to tell with my untrained eyes.

I started out strong, I really did. I quite literally dug in. I may have won a few battles over the years, but, unfortunately, the weeds are beginning to win the war. I suppose it doesn’t help that we live very, very close to a nature preserve/center. At least this is what I tell myself to justify my inability to gain advancement in any siege.

It is as if nature is laughing at me. Taunting me. Once I have made a clearing and have begun to make another, sprays of thistly, noxious, itch-inducing evil cascade across the soil, having multiplied three-fold! It’s almost like playing whack-a-mole.

Sleep tight for me, I’m gone.

Don’t forget to “like” my Facebook Page.

About Jan Rain

See the About page. View all posts by Jan Rain

3 responses to “WAVING THE WHITE FLAG

Leave a Reply

